Vassal setups are approximated according to MOD rules, except in the DwD scenario, where they have been approximated by Gereon, site maintainer.
Each round, one or more vassals may be selectable for control by players. Vassals can be chosen in Iron Throne track order.
Players may wish to skip control of a vassal in a specific round. This is often because they want to attack the vassal itself and take its territory.
If a player skips to control a vassal, the next player on the Iron Throne track will be able to control one more vassal. They can pass on or select as many vassals as they wish. The last player on the Iron Throne track cannot pass and has to command all remaining vassals.
- Vassals cannot win the game.
- Vassals can never hold a dominance token (if they are on top of a track, the next player house on that track receives the dominance token).
- Vassals don’t have Power tokens, however they automatically leave a Power token behind when they vacate from an area.
- Vassals participate in Clash of Kings but always automatically bid 0 tokens when bidding for the tracks.
- Vassals do not participate in Wildling attacks and therefore they are immune to the effects.
- Vassal orders are placed after player orders. Vassals can just place 2 orders.
- You cannot attack nor raid your own vassal. You even cannot enter areas of your vassal with just a Power token in it.
- Your vassal cannot attack nor raid you or any other vassal you control.
- Vassals cannot march into a port.
- Your vassal cannot support your enemy in battle.
- All vassals share a vassal house card deck. When it comes to battle, the commander randomly draws 3 cards from the shared vassal deck to form a hand for the battle. He then picks one of those 3 cards as the chosen house card. After the battle, all the vassal house cards go back into the shared vassal deck, i.e. there is no discard pile for vassal house cards.
- The commander earns one Power token when one of their vassals win a battle.
- When the Westeros card “Mustering” is resolved, vassals only can muster in their capital. (They can place their special muster order everywhere of course.)
- A commander can use the Valyrian Steel Blade for their vassal.
- But a commander cannot use the Raven to change an order of their vassal.